Sunday, November 02, 2008

Lewis Hamilton wins the F1 Championship...

I have been an admirer of this kid since he burst into the F1 scene last year. It was heart breaking last year when he lost the F1 Championship by 1 point on the last day of the race.

Today's race was nail-biting... nearly giving me a heart attack. Felipe Massa was in pole position all day... meaning Hamilton needs to finish 5th or Massa will clinch the title. Hamilton did it the hard way. On the final lap, he was 6th when he was passed by Vettel. I was swearing like hell... Hamilton blew it again I thought... damn it. He was pressing like bat out of hell but the car just could not pass Vettel.

But with 2 corners to go... Vettel and Hamilton passed the 4th place Toyota's Timo Glock..! Apparently Glock choice of tyres made him slow as snail for the final lap (it was raining the last 4 laps). Ferrari was cheering as they thought Hamilton finished 6th but the last laugh was Hamilton as he finished 5th over taking Glock.

Hamilton made history as the youngest ever F1 Champion at 23. He became the first black champion and first Briton since Damon Hill to win the F1 top prize. Judging from his driving... I am sure he will be winning championship for years to come. All we need now is for Mc Laren team to continue supporting this kid. We are looking at a legend in a making.

Final World Championship Standings:


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren 98pts

2. Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 97

3. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 75

4. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 75

5. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 61

6. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 60

7. Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) McLaren 53

8. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Scuderia Toro Rosso 35

9. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 31

10. Timo Glock (Ger) Toyota 25

11. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 21

12. Nelson Piquet Jr. (Bra) Renault 19

13. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams 17

14. Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Honda 11

15. Kazuki Nakajima (Jpn) Williams 9

16. David Coulthard (GBR) Red Bull 8

17. Sebastien Bourdais (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 4

18. Jenson Button (GBR) Honda 3


1. Ferrari 172pts

2. McLaren 151

3. BMW Sauber 135

4. Renault 80,

5. Toyota 56

6. Scuderia Toro Rosso 39

7. Red Bull 29

8. Williams 26

9. Honda 14

No comments: